I’m a Traveler

I recently had one of my out-of-no-where realizations. I never know how to say what’s on my mind in an eloquent fashion, so I’m just going to say it. I’m a traveler. What does that mean and how did I come to that conclusion?

Well first, I analyze things a lot. Secondly, something that has been constant in my life for almost 4 years recently changed. I’m not too shaken up, but it made me wonder. As I reflected and wondered why things happen the way they do, I noticed something; every time I get comfortable, im uprooted. As soon as I adjust to something, it changes.

Oddly, a lot of  the people I know seem to lead fairly simple, predictable lives. You know, they live in the same house, have the same friends, graduated from valley middle school and went to valley high school. They seem to have a rarely interrupted routine and a sense of security I’ve never had.  I used envy those people, but then I realized if my life was like that I would be bored as….zzz

Oh sorry, I almost fell asleep. As I was saying, if my life was predictable I would be bored. I also realized that change helps you grow. To walk, you must move from a crawling position to walking position. Sometimes life just changes your position, so you can learn something new. It’s a little awkward standing up at first, but once you got it, you got it. Then its time to run. Then its time to talk over the world… or something like that.

So maybe I’m a traveler at heart… that would explain a lot of things about me. It’s funny how I question things only to realize I’m exactly where I’m supposed to be. If anyone can relate or has insight to share, go ahead. For now its all good, I’m just following the path as it unfolds in front of me.

17 thoughts on “I’m a Traveler

  1. It’s funny, I’ve always liked being home… When I was young, I went on some Trips with my Dad, his New Wife and her Son… Just to Northern Arizona a bit, to Ski… Oh, and when I lived with him in 9th Grade, we did go to Colorado to Ski… And I enjoyed it… I’ve also traveled a bit with my Childhood Friend… We went to Mexico several times…

    With My Mom and Brother growing up though, we didn’t really travel all that much… My Brother and I actually missed a lot of school, which was hard on us, because the other kids were mean about it… But, we really just liked being home, and our Mom didn’t like the Public School System, so she let us miss a lot of School… For a while anyway, but they they gave her a hard time about it.

    About 12 years ago, I finally moved away from California, where I grew up… I moved up to Oregon where my Brother lived with his Wife and Oldest Boy… My Brother on the other hand, had lived in Northern California, Oregon and Hawaii, as his Wife was Born in Hawaii… She’s not Hawaiian, but it is where she was born.

    So I guess you could say he’s more of a Traveler than I.

    I used to Love Flying to, we used to Fly to Arizona two or three times a year to see my Dad and his New wife… Loved it.

    But I’ve never been to Europe, or Australia, or Asia, or Africa… Or Central America, or Canada… I have been to Mexico a few times like I say… And El Paso Texas, and New Orleans, and Nevada, and Arizona, and Colorado… And I did get a Short Film into a Film Festival in New York, and flew there with my Dad to see it up on the Big Screen… Loved that.

    But these days, I mostly like to be at home… But, I don’t get bored… Never have… I’ve always got a ton of things going on in my Mind that I’m working on… So, I don’t need to be out and about to be stimulated.

    My Dad is definitely a Traveler though… He’s gone more places than anyone I’ve ever known… In fact, whenever I invite him to come over for Lunch, he always says “Wanta got out to eat?” lol

    He seems to always need to be Moving, and to Be around other people… That’s not me.

    I do love to Watch Shows about Other Countries… And look at Pictures Etc… I’ve just never been all that into actually heading to other Countries…

    DarkJade-

    • Well, we’re all different. Some peopleare content to stay in the same place. Personally, I have to move and when I become comfortable, something moves me. When I said I’m a traveler, I meant figuratively speaking. In reality, I havent traveled much but I would love to one day. There are many beautiful places to see!

  2. Remember, change offers us an opportunity to learn and grow. We are constantly evolving! And there is the whole “whatever doesnt kill us makes us stronger” thing too 🙂

  3. Keep your head up. I have been through more changes that most people go through in their entire lives and I am 25. I have not lived in a single place longer than 7 months at a time since I was 17, so I know a thing or two about change. The best way to deal with it in my opinion is to learn to love the fresh start changes bring you. You’ll be ok, I promise you. Everything will be okay. : ]

    -CT

    • I know the feeling, its not something I bring upon myself, it just kind of happens… It hurts but I just decided accept it. Maybe im just meant to keep moving on..

  4. My dad is in the armed forces and I’ve changed 9 schools. I’ve almost seen half of my country and a few outside. Made so many friends, forgot so many of them. A monotonous life becomes stagnant after sometime and unpredictability has it’s own perks. You’ll adjust to all this, don’t worry. I love this post !

    • It’s funny, my family doesnt travel or move too often, somehow I just end up uprooted. Ive never had anyone or anything thats been constant in my life.. I just had accept that things will keep changing…. its my life. I agree, unpredictability has its perks! I’m glad someone can relate 🙂

  5. Good Morning Lady T!
    I find your sentences below, so true, and so well written. Definitely should be the quote of the day! Hope all is well!

    “To walk, you must move from a crawling position to walking position. Sometimes life just changes your position, so you can learn something new. It’s a little awkward standing up at first, but once you got it, you got it. Then its time to run.”
    (beautifully written!)

Leave a Reply

